top of page

As an anti-oppressive therapist, I am a big believer in breaking down power imbalances between myself and those I work with. Part of the power that I as a therapist hold is that I get to know a lot of personal information about my client's lives but they don't get to know much about me (how unfair!) Here, I aim to change that a little bit. It is also important that we choose a therapist we feel connected to. I hope this page serves as a starting point for you to gauge your connection with me.

My Social Location

I am a white, cisgender (but remain curious about my gender identification), middle-class, heterosexual, non-disabled, settler-colonial woman of Swedish ancestry on my mother's side and Irish, Scottish and English ancestry on my father's side. 

5778B730-496F-4982-9901-28C3B3ECE796_1_201_a.jpeg

My Story

9520AF9A-87AC-47DB-90EA-629D8987E965_1_105_c_edited.jpg

First and foremost, I am a human. Believe it or not, I don't have it all figured out! I have always been someone who feels emotions quite deeply and enjoys philosophizing, discussing and learning about what it means to be a human. Naturally, I was drawn to becoming a therapist. I am well-versed in this journey we call "human existence", having experienced numerous challenges myself, including losing my mother to cancer at age 26, recovering from an eating disorder, and being a highly sensitive person. I view these and all of the other challenges I've experienced as "professional development" since they have enhanced my ability to empathize with others, helping them feel seen, heard and understood. I feel fortunate to have been supported by some amazing therapists and I am endlessly grateful that I now get to give back in the same way. Continuing to learn, together with my clients, what it means and how it feels to be a human brings me great joy.

My Interests
 

I have a passion for adventure and find replenishment in backcountry skiing, mountain biking, rock climbing, canoeing, camping, backpacking, travelling, and simply soaking up time in the wilderness. Another part of me loves curling up with a good book, meditating, practicing yoga, pretending I know how to garden, pulling oracle cards, singing, knitting, strumming on my guitar and jamming out to 90's hip hop. I also love animals and belly laughing with my friends.

39D4FF09-3536-47B8-8930-C3B9FB14B7FB_1_201_a.heic
bottom of page